Introducing: Manjit Singh, Tabla player for the Wilderness

We have a very special collaboration happening the Wilderness Show. Manjit Singh, our Tabla player talks about his instrument and what it’s like to play with a classical orchestra.

Blackbird Ensemble: When did you start to learn Tabla?

Manjit: I started learning tabla at the age of 14 and learnt under the traditional guidance of Kulwinder Singh (disciple of legendary Ustad Alla Rakha) the famous tabla player and teacher in Punjab. I have done a Masters in Indian Music and currently doing a BMus in University of Auckland. I am working as a director and teacher in Rhythm School of Indian Music.

Blackbird Ensemble: How is the process different working with classical musicians?
Manjit: Indian classical music is improvisation based music. The Indian music does not employ notation system for any instrument playing or singing. Its very different for me to playing tabla with the western classical music because of the reading notes. But its a new learning experience for me to play tabla with reading scores.

Blackbird Ensemble: What is your favourite place in the Wilderness?
Manjit: My favorite place in nature is the Lakeside. I like sitting at lakeside and play tabla and enjoy playing tabla with the sounds of nature.

manjit

